Success Story: Vinnova to Use Vega EuroHPC JU System

Organisations & Codes Involved


Technical/scientific Challenge:

Vinnova, Sweden’s innovation agency, has been awarded development access to the Vega EuroHPC JU system. The successful application was a joint effort between Vinnova Data Scientist Dr. Leonora Vesterbacka Olsson and ENCCS.

Vinnova is a government agency under the Ministry of Enterprise and Innovation, and the national contact authority for the EU framework program for research and innovation. Being a governmental agency Vinnova handles a large number of documentation and enhanced analyses of these are of crucial importance. The AI analysis tool used by Vinnova was originally developed by the Swedish Innovation Agency and the Swedish Agency for Growth Policy Analysis, Tillväxtverket. Features of this tool include topic modeling, keyword extraction, an AI-assisted free text search as well as speech tagging to isolate the target audience and purpose.

The text analysis tool in its current state constitutes an aid for analysis of calls for proposals for funding and helps the analyzer to identify trends in topics and purposes found in funding proposals and applications for funding. The various functionalities provide an easy way to perform exploratory analysis and draw well-based conclusions from the results.


With the awarded HPC time on the Vega ( EuroHPC JU petascale system within EuroHPC JU development call(, Vinnova intends to further develop this AI tool for analyses of new types of government agency documents and enhance it with new features. 


  • Keywords: High-Performance Computing, HPC, Supercomputing, Engineering, Software Optimisation, EuroCC
  • Industry sector: IT/HPC systems, services & software providers, manufacturing & engineering, natural science
  • Technology: HPC, HPDA, AI


This project has received funding from the European High-Performance Computing Joint Undertaking (JU) under grant agreement No 951732. The JU receives support from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation program and Germany, Bulgaria, Austria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Latvia, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, the United Kingdom, France, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Norway, Switzerland, Turkey, Republic of North Macedonia, Iceland, Montenegro